Curtis 20/21
Curtis 20/21
Featuring Curtis President and violist Roberto Díaz and Curtis students

Mondavi Center Presenting Program


Penderecki Sextet for Clarinet, Horn, Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano
Schoenberg Pierrot Lunaire for Voice and Instrumental Ensemble, Op. 21

Program addendum – translations (PDF)

Dedicated to the music of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, Curtis 20/21 is the Curtis Institute of Music’s contemporary music ensemble. Led by Curtis president Roberto Diaz, Curtis 20/21 offers a fascinating look at works that sit solidly in the canon yet still—even 100 years later—maintain the ability to surprise. Expect the same extraordinary level of musicianship you have come to expect from Curtis on Tour as the ensemble tackles Schoenberg’s melodramatic 1912 masterwork, Pierrot Lunaire and Polish composer’s Krzysztof Penderecki’s Sextet (2002). It is a pairing of two works connected by deep emotional expression, vibrant colors and virtuosic instrumental playing.

Event Info

When >

Sun • May 12, 2013 • 2PM

Seating >

Vanderhoef Studio Theatre

Buy Tickets

Subscriber Add-On:

View UC Davis Faculty and Staff discount pricing

Subscribers and UC Davis Faculty and Staff Discounts: Call the Ticket Office to purchase tickets at your discount. 866.754.2787.

Handling charges will apply for purchases made by phone or online.

>> PPT/Q&A info

Pre-performance Talk

Sponsored By

  • Wells Fargo