Alexander String Quartet <br>10th Anniversary Performance <br>with Robert Greenberg
Alexander String Quartet
10th Anniversary Performance
with Robert Greenberg

Mondavi Center Presenting Program

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

  PROGRAM NOTES  |  View online   |  Download PDF

Schubert: String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden”
Crumb: Black Angels

As part of our 10-year relationship with ASQ, the Mondavi Center proudly presents this intriguing juxtaposition between the classical and the contemporary. In one afternoon, ASQ performs Schubert’s stirring masterwork "Death and the Maiden" followed by George Crumb’s “electric string quartet” Black Angels (which quotes from the Schubert piece). While Schubert’s work is considered to be a pillar of the chamber music canon, Crumb aims to reinvent the art form altogether. Both technically demanding works, the program looks back at established musical traditions while looking forward to explore unconventional musical landscapes.

Event Info

When >

Sun • Apr 14, 2013 • 2PM

Seating >

Vanderhoef Studio Theatre Standard

Buy Tickets

Subscriber Add-On:

View UC Davis Faculty and Staff discount pricing

Subscribers and UC Davis Faculty and Staff Discounts: Call the Ticket Office to purchase tickets at your discount. 866.754.2787.

Handling charges will apply for purchases made by phone or online.


    Anne Gray
    Thomas & Phyllis Farver