You are here

Alexander String Quartet

Alexander String Quartet
Sunday, February 23, 2014 - 2:00pm
Because of heavy subscription renewals, ASQ Series 1 is currently at capacity. To be added to the waitlist, please call the ticket office at 530-754-2787.
Bartók String Quartet No. 3
String Quartet No. 4

After a lively exploration of works by Franz Schubert, the acclaimed Alexander String Quartet turns to Zoltán Kodály and Bela Bartók, two Hungarian composers who dramatically influenced the sound of music in the 20th century. The Alexander String Quartet, a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, is a fixture in the music capitals of four continents, securing its place among the world’s foremost ensembles. Admired for its interpretations of major classical works, the ensemble also established itself as an important advocate of new music through more than 25 commissions and numerous premiere performances.

Renowned musicologist, author and composer Robert Greenberg provides commentary throughout the concert.

Create a Subscription

Event Info

Sunday, February 23, 2014 - 2:00pm
Bartholomew Room