You are here

San Francisco Symphony

Christian Zacharias, conductor and soloist
San Francisco Symphony
Saturday, October 25, 2014 - 8:00pm

One of the pleasures of a Mondavi Center season is the return of the San Francisco Symphony. This program is a stirring reminder of this premier orchestra’s range. Copland’s joyous Appalachian Spring, for which the composer won a Pulitzer Prize, is one of the most beloved pieces in the American repertoire. Foremost Mozart interpreter Christian Zacharias conducts the Piano Concerto No. 20 from the keyboard and Haydn’s Symphony No. 93 from the podium in this concert, which also includes the slender, lovely Morton Feldman elegy for his piano teacher, Madame Press Died Last Week at Ninety.

Copland Appalachian Spring
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 20 in D Minor K. 466
Feldman Madame Press Died Last Week at Ninety
Haydn Symphony No 93 in D Major

Pre-performance Talk
7PM • Jackson Hall

Beth Levy, Associate Professor, Department of Music, UC Davis

Event Info

Saturday, October 25, 2014 - 8:00pm
Bartholomew Room