You are here

UC Davis Symphony Orchestra

Parisian Russians
Saturday, May 7, 2016 - 7:00pm

Christian Baldini, music director and conductor 

Thomas Derthick, double bass

Stravinsky: Scherzo à la russe

Igor Stravinsky( 1882–1971) is perhaps best-known for his work that he wrote for the ballet producer Sergei Diaghilev, from Firebird (1910) to the Rite of Spring (1913). Following the first world war, Stravinsky spent time in Switzerland and then Paris, becoming a French citizen, and then, later, he moved to the United States. Stravinsky wrote two stand-alone scherzos for orchestra: the Scherzo fantastique (1909) and the Scherzo à la russe (1946), each from very different periods in his life. Written a few short years after emigrating to Hollywood, it is not surprising that the Scherzo à la russe was originally meant to accompany a film with a Russian backdrop. After the film efforts fell through, Stravinsky orchestrated the Scherzo à la russe for the Paul Whiteman Band as a symphonic jazz piece for radio broadcast. Stravinsky himself eventually conducted a fully orchestrated version—the same version the UC Davis Symphony Orchestra will perform—on March 22, 1946, by the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra.

Koussevitzky: Double Bass Concerto with Thomas Derthick, double bass

Serge Koussevitzky (1874–1951) “studied in Moscow, where he became a virtuoso double bass player and established his credentials as a conductor. He left Russia in the wake of the Revolution, arriving in the United States after a spectacularly successful series of concerts in Paris in the early 1920s ... Moreover the publishing house he and his wife founded, Éditions Russes de Musique, was a major force in the dissemination of the music of Rachmaninov, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, and the other Russians…” 
—D. Kern Holoman (Evenings with the Orchestra)

Thomas Derthick, double bass, is known to audiences inn the central valley as the conductor of the Central Valley Youth Symphony, and to Sacramento and Davis audiences as a principal of the Sacramento Philharmonic, in addition to his teaching duties at both UC Davis and the University of the Pacific Conservatory of Music.

Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B-Flat Major

Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953) today is best known for works that include Peter and the Wolf (1936), the “Classical Symphony” (1916),Lieutenant Kije (1934), and Romeo and Juliet (1936). He wrote seven symphonies and his Fifth Symphony is easily the most popular. The premiere took place early in 1945 alongside Peter and the Wolf and the “Classical Symphony,” and won him widespread recognition.

$10 Students and Children, $20 Adults (Assigned Seating) 


Event Info

Saturday, May 7, 2016 - 7:00pm
Jackson Hall