You are here

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Augustin Hadelich, violin
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
Wednesday, December 2, 2015 - 8:00pm

View Program Addendum

Pre-performance Talk
Wednesday 7PM • Jackson Hall

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra members in conversation with D. Kern Holoman, Professor of Music, emeritus, Department of Music, UC Davis

The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra is known almost as much for its innovative structure as it is for its award-winning music making: the ensemble rotates musical leadership for each work, placing democracy at the center of artistic expression. That celebrated artistry is on full display with this thoughtfully curated program. Handel’s spirited Concerto Grosso builds upon the theme of collaboration with its Baroque-style call and response between soloists and the full orchestra. Stravinsky’s Divertimento was composed as an homage to Tchaikovsky. Soloist Augustin Hadelich, who last appeared in Jackson Hall with the San Francisco Symphony, is celebrated for his phenomenal technique and poetic sensitivity, “reveling in the myriad ways of making a phrase come alive on the violin” (Washington Post).

Handel Concerto Grosso, Op. 6, No. 5
Stravinsky Divertimento from Le baiser de la fée for Violin
Tchaikovsky Valse-Scherzo, Op. 34
Respighi Gli Uccelli (The Birds)

Event Info

Wednesday, December 2, 2015 - 8:00pm