You are here

Russian National Orchestra

Mikhail Pletnev, artistic director and conductorYuja Wang, piano
Russian National Orchestra
Saturday, February 20, 2016 - 8:00pm
Founded in 1990 by pianist and conductor Mikhail Pletnev, the RNO is unique among the principal Russian ensembles as it is the first independent orchestra in Russia, receiving support from individuals and organizations around the world. Maestro Pletnev, a finalist for the 2015 BBC Music Magazine Awards, takes up the baton for a program of works from Schumann’s only opera, Tchaikovsky’s iconic ballet, and Mozart’s concerto written for a young French keyboard player known only as “Jeunehomme.” The concerto she inspired suggests her talents must have been considerable. Brilliant pianist Yuja Wang returns to the Jackson Hall stage—previous Mondavi Center appearances were with the Shanghai, San Francisco and London symphony orchestras—bringing her “impressive virtuosity and poise” (The Boston Globe).
Schumann Overture to Genoveva, Op. 81
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat Major, K.271 (Jeunehomme) Yuja Wang, soloist
Tchaikovsky Suite from Swan Lake
Mozart "Turkish March"
Prokofiev "Cinderella's Waltz" from Cinderella
Khachaturian "Lezghinka" from Gayane

Safety Policies
Current Safety Policies

Event Info

Saturday, February 20, 2016 - 8:00pm
Bartholomew Room