You are here

Venice Baroque Orchestra

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons
Nicola Benedetti, violin
Saturday, February 25, 2017 - 8:00pm

There are few pieces of music as instantly recognizable as Antonio Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. And yet, as it is so often heard only in fragments, the complete piece still has the capacity to surprise and delight. The Venice Baroque Orchestra performed the Venetian masterpiece alongside Philip Glass’ “American Four Seasons” in 2010. The group is joined by violin soloist Nicola Benedetti, whose highly personal interpretations of Vivaldi’s work have been called “teasingly wistful one minute, electrifying and explosive the next” (The Scotsman). The program is rounded out by a number of lesser-known, but no less engaging, Baroque masterworks from Italy and England.

Galuppi: Concerto a Quattro No. 2 in G Major

Avison: Concerto Grosso No. 8 in E Minor, after D. Scarlatti

Geminiani: Concerto Grosso for strings in D Minor, “La Follia”

Vivaldi: Concerto in D Major for violin, strings and basso continuo, RV 212a, “Per la solennità della S. lingua di S. Antonio in Padua”

Vivaldi: The Four Seasons



Event Info

Saturday, February 25, 2017 - 8:00pm
Jackson Hall

Individual Support Provided By

  • Dean and Karen Karnopp

Related Subscription