You are here

Royal Scottish National Orchestra

Thomas Søndergård, Music Director | Olga Kern, piano
Saturday, April 6, 2019 - 8:00pm

Sibelius Symphony No. 7 in C Major, op. 105
Rachmaninoff Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, op. 43
Prokofiev Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, op. 100

Throughout its history, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO) has played an integral part in Scotland’s musical life, performing regularly in concert halls throughout Scotland, at the Edinburgh International Festival and at the BBC Proms at London’s Royal Albert Hall. Danish conductor Thomas Søndergård, newly installed as the RSNO’s music director, leads a crowd-pleasing program, with Olga Kern, winner of the 2001 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, playing Rachmaninoff’s ever-popular Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.