You are here

Zofo Piano Duet: "ZOFOMOMA"

Eva-Maria Zimmermann & Keisuke Nakagoshi
Friday, February 14, 2020 - 7:00pm

The ZOFO-MOMA Live Concert Experience unfolds as an aurally and visually stunning walking tour through a virtual museum of modern art. Against an ever-changing backdrop of contemporary paintings, 15 new ZOFO-commissioned duet compositions are revealed throughout the 72-minute continuous performance.

Also, in a nod to Mussorgsky, this 21st-century Pictures at an Exhibition leads viewers from one gallery to the next accompanied by a new “Promenade” Theme arranged by ZOFO’s Keisuke Nakagoshi. For this cutting-edge project, ZOFO solicited new works from top composers around the globe—including UC Davis’s own professor of music Pablo Ortiz—and requested each to select a painting representative of his or her culture as a springboard to the creative process. The result is a rich tapestry of sights and sounds reflecting the cultural, musical, and artistic diversity of our world community.

Since joining forces as a professional duo in 2009, internationally acclaimed solo pianists Eva-Maria Zimmermann and Keisuke Nakagoshi (ZOFO) have electrified audiences from Carnegie Hall to Tokyo, Japan, with their dazzling artistry and outside-the-box thematic programming for piano-four-hands. This GRAMMY-nominated, prize-winning Steinway Artist Ensemble—one of only a handful of duos worldwide devoted exclusively to piano duets—is blazing a bold new path for four-hands groups by focusing on 20th- and 21st-century repertoire and by commissioning new works from noted composers each year.

ZOFOMOMA features the following Composers – Visual Artists / COUNTRY—
      Keyla Orozco – Douglas Pérez Castro / CUBA
      Lei Liang – Huang Binhong / CHINA
      Carl Vine – James Gleeson / AUSTRALIA
      Avner Dorman – Reuven Rubin / ISRAEL
      Cécile Marti – Verena Marti-Buchmann / SWITZERLAND
      Franghiz Ali-Zadeh – Sattar Bahlulzade / AZERBAIJAN 
      Samuel Carl Adams – Emily Davis Adams / USA
      Paweł Mykietyn – Wojciech Fangor / POLAND
      Wayan Yudane – Made Budhiana / INDONESIA
      Pablo Ortiz – Eduardo Stupia / ARGENTINA
      Kenji Oh – Yokoyama Taikan / JAPAN
      Gabriel Prokofiev – Robert Fry / UK
      Sahba Aminikia – Nicky Nodjoumi / IRAN
      Gilles Silvestrini – Claude Monet / FRANCE
      Jonathan Russell – Stormie Mills / UK

* The program runs 75 minutes and is presented without an intermission. *

Create a Subscription

Event Info

Friday, February 14, 2020 - 7:00pm
Ann E. Pitzer Center