You are here

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, conductor; Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello
Saturday, October 15, 2022 - 7:30pm

Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op. 85 
Mieczysław Weinberg: Jewish Rhapsody, Op. 36 No 2
Claude Debussy: La Mer 

Running Time. 2 hours, plus one intermission

One of the world’s great orchestras led by celebrated conductor Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla in a program of enduring favorites and new discoveries. From the churning impressionism of Debussy’s La Mer to soloist Sheku Kanneh-Mason, a rising star from England, shining on the Elgar Cello Concerto, this will be an evening of unforgettable music-making.  

The CBSO is grateful to Mr John Osborn for his exceptional generosity in making the tour possible.

Additional support has been provided by the Dunard Fund.

Event Info

Saturday, October 15, 2022 - 7:30pm
Jackson Hall

Artist Info

Press Materials

Sponsored By

Individual Support Provided By

  • Patti Donlon
  • Anne Gray

Event Enhancements