You are here
Sunday, December 16, 2018 - 2:00pm

For 31 years, Boston Brass has set out to establish a one-of-a-kind musical experience. This holiday concert features the swinging seasonal chart-toppers made famous by Stan Kenton and His Orchestra, combined with some solo and combo selections as well as fun surprises

Friday, January 25, 2019 - 8:00pm

Las Cafeteras, the “uniquely Angeleno mishmash of punk, hip hop, beat music, cumbia and rock,” (Los Angeles Times) are remixing roots music and telling modern-day stories. The Villalobos Brothers masterfully blend the richness of Mexican folk music with the intricate harmonies of jazz and classical. 

Saturday, January 26, 2019 - 8:00pm

Pianist Lara Downes and vocalist Theo Bleckmann present a duo cabaret showcasing the music of Leonard Bernstein, Duke Ellington and Kurt Weill. In Our Time is nostalgic yet timeless, and infused with the magnetic charisma for which Downes and Bleckmann are recognized. 

Sunday, January 27, 2019 - 2:00pm

Like John Ford’s sweeping historical dramas, The Cut follows the journey of one father’s search through several continents for his two daughters after they are separated during the 1915 Armenian Genocide.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 6:00pm, Tuesday, January 29, 2019 - 6:00pm, Tuesday, April 16, 2019 - 6:00pm

Join us in the Vanderhoef Studio Theatre for a quarterly Open Mic Night. Presented in partnership with campus group Sacramento Area Youth Speaks (SAYS) and the Mondavi Center for UC Davis students and community youth. Sign-ups: 5:30-6PM  |  Open Mic: 6-9PM

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 - 7:00pm, Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 8:00pm, Friday, February 1, 2019 - 8:00pm, Saturday, February 2, 2019 - 8:00pm

Since his youth, André Mehmari’s musical sensibility has known no borders, freely flowing between Frédéric Chopin, Scott Joplin and Ernesto Nazareth. Working between Brazilian music, classical and jazz, the pianist and composer has forged a language of tremendous expressive power.  

Monday, February 4, 2019 - 7:30pm

Douglas Abrams was the perfect person to capture the shared compassionate, hopeful outlook of Desmond Tutu and the Dalai Lama. Especially moving for the Campus Community Book Project selection committee was the book’s potential for addressing mental health and well-being topics within a larger discussion on community building.  

Sunday, February 10, 2019 - 2:00pm

With the 7 Fingers’ Reversible, be prepared for the best in contemporary circus: moments of pure grace yielding to rushes of adrenaline, as a cast of multitalented performers travel through time and space. 

Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 8:00pm

Curtis on Tour brings us an ensemble of four vocalists from the Curtis Opera Theatre in a program of operatic favorites. This Valentine’s Day event is packed with arias, duets and ensemble pieces, as well as gems from the Great American Songbook and Brahms’ Liebeslieder Waltzes.

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 - 7:00pm, Thursday, February 28, 2019 - 8:00pm, Friday, March 1, 2019 - 8:00pm, Saturday, March 2, 2019 - 8:00pm

Veronica Swift is a fearless performer who displays deep and pure musicality in her singing and scatting. Her interplay with her fellow musicians is a hallmark of her talent; here she is matched with the remarkable hard bop pianist Benny Green and his trio. 

Pages

Remember These Events