You are here
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 - 7:00pm, Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 8:00pm, Friday, January 24, 2020 - 8:00pm, Saturday, January 25, 2020 - 8:00pm

Norwegian pianist Tord Gustavsen creates lyrical, stripped-down music that is deceptive in its simplicity. On his recent album, The Other Side, Gustavsen returns to the piano trio setting, expanding its repertoire with new compositions as well as arrangements of J.S. Bach chorales and traditional Scandinavian hymns.

Friday, January 31, 2020 - 8:00pm, Saturday, February 1, 2020 - 9:30pm

In conjunction with the UC Davis Department of Music’s Taproot Composition Festival, the Mondavi Center presents Spektral Quartet.

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 7:00pm, Thursday, February 27, 2020 - 8:00pm, Friday, February 28, 2020 - 8:00pm

A thrilling and humane portrait of army life tells the stories of five men and women serving on the front line.

Tuesday, November 12, 2019 - 6:00pm, Tuesday, March 3, 2020 - 6:00pm, Tuesday, April 14, 2020 - 6:00pm

Join us in the Vanderhoef Studio Theatre for a quarterly Open Mic Night. Presented in partnership with campus group Sacramento Area Youth Speaks (SAYS) and the Mondavi Center for UC Davis students and community youth. Sign-ups: 5:30-6PM  |  Open Mic: 6-9PM

Wednesday, March 4, 2020 - 7:00pm, Thursday, March 5, 2020 - 8:00pm, Friday, March 6, 2020 - 8:00pm, Saturday, March 7, 2020 - 8:00pm

Representing “a new sense of possibility and direction in jazz” (The Washington Post), Chilean-born saxophonist Melissa Aldana is a prodigious talent whose instrumental chops and creative improvisations are a family tradition.

Friday, March 13, 2020 - 8:00pm, Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 8:00pm

Described as ethereal Nordic folk music, Dreamers' Circus is composed of three close friends and members of the Danish String Quartet whose bond informs their powerfully connective music.

Thursday, April 9, 2020 - 8:00pm, Friday, April 10, 2020 - 8:00pm, Saturday, April 11, 2020 - 8:00pm

 For more than 10 years, pianist Fred Hersch has invited a wide range of musicians to join him in duo performances at New York’s Jazz Standard. Last season, Hersch inaugurated the tradition at the Mondavi Center.

Friday, April 17, 2020 - 8:00pm, Sunday, April 19, 2020 - 2:00pm

Lauded by The Washington Post as “revitalizing the world of contemporary music” and “a bombshell of raw-talent” by contemporary music tastemakers I Care if You Listen, Sandbox Percussion has established themselves as a leading force in this generation of contemporary percussion chamber music. 

Friday, May 1, 2020 - 8:00pm, Saturday, May 2, 2020 - 8:00pm

Koto visionary Yumi Kurosawa teams up with world-renowned tabla player Anubrata Chatterjee to deliver a program that brings together two expressive musical traditions, bridging the cultures of Japan and India.

Friday, May 8, 2020 - 8:00pm

For violinist Cho-Liang Lin's Mondavi Center debut, he pairs with pianist Jon Kimura Parker in a program inspired by America, featuring Ravel’s Violin Sonata No. 2, Dvořák’s Violin Sonatina and Copland’s Sonata for Violin.

Pages

Remember These Events