Skip to main content

UC Davis Department of Music

UC Davis Symphony Orchestra: "Musical Landscapes"

Saturday, June 1, 2024


Jackson Hall

UC Davis Symphony Orchestra on stage performing with their instruments.

Tickets from: $24.00

This concert features the Finnish cellist Anssi Karttunen, who has frequently collaborated with the UC Davis Symphony Orchestra, in a new work by Aida Shirazi. Since receiving her doctorate in music composition from UC Davis in 2021, Shirazi has been gaining attention far and wide for her acoustic and electro-acoustic music, which a New York Times music critic described as “unfolding with deliberation.” In Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony the audience will enjoy the composer’s Slavonic spirit in an energetic and varied musical landscape.

This event is not eligible for a Mondavi Center subscription package.

Program List

  • Winner of the Concerto Competition


  • New Work (World Premiere)

    Aida Shirazi

  • Symphony No. 7

    Antonín Dvořák

Artist Bios